Low-carb ‘Aloo Gobi’

I have been craving a good curry. Before my low carb days I probably cooked a curry meal at least 3 times a week. Either potato curry, bean curry, veggie ground curry, or numerous variations of all of them! I love a good curry!


Tonight I made a variation of Aloo Gobi. I substituted the potato with butternut squash.
I love Daksha’s gourmet spices. I have her recipe book 3 for vegetarian cooking cuisine. I have tried many of her recipes and they are delicious. She shows you how to mix up curries from scratch, grinding up spices as needed. A couple days ago I found a Daksha’s curry mix for Aloo Gobi at the supermarket. Since I was feeling lazy tonight that is what I used for my variation of traditional Aloo Gobi. See photo below…..(don’t worry Daksha, I will send you the bill for advertising lol)!

Here is her recipe for Aloo Gobi:
I used 2 cups of diced butternut squash instead of potato and 1/4 cup of peas instead of a full cup.
Here is supper…..I forgot to buy fresh cilantro/dhania so doesn’t look as pretty as it could. Tastes good though!

IMG_0777

I roasted the left over squash and made butternut/feta quiche.
Chloe made an amazing coleslaw to serve with the quiche……she used grated red cabbage, grated fennel, grated pear, finely sliced celery and topped with a freshly squeezed lime. Delicious!!! BTW……I used the recipe I posted previously for the quiche. It is definitely flop proof lol…..if I have good results every time you can be sure it will make the idiots guide to making quiche! Tonight I used the butternut squash, 1/2 a cup of mexicana cheese (a blend of cheddar, Colby, Monterey Jack), 1/2 a cup Feta and 5 finely chopped green onions.

IMG_0779
Sooooo good! Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

