Lazy Sunday

Today has been a lovely slow day with me lazing around going through recipe books looking for something to bake. I decided to try a recipe from my wheat belly cookbook for cheddar cheese biscuits (scones).

I spent half an hour or so grinding up almonds and golden flaxseed to make some flour. Usually I make a few cups at a time and store in the fridge for when I feel like baking, but I had run out. Once that was done it was super quick to prep the biscuits and pretty soon they were in the oven. Fifteen minutes later and they were done! I haven’t made these before so wasn’t sure how they would taste. They are really good! I ate a couple of them while still warm. They are very filling…..I almost need a nap now lol!


Recipe for cheddar cheese biscuits:
1 cup almond meal/flour
1 cup ground golden flaxseeds
4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
4 Tbsp cold butter, cut into cubes
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
4 egg whites
(I also added 1/4 tsp of cayenne powder)
Preheat oven to 350F. Line baking sheet with parchment paper.
In a bowl, mix together all dry ingredients. Cut in the butter until combined (after cutting for a while I used my hands to mix till the mixture was combined and crumbly). Stir in the cheddar.
Beat egg whites with mixer till soft peaks form. Gently fold whites into mixture till combined.
Spoon dough into 8 rounds on baking sheet and flatten to about 3/4″ thickness.
Bake for 15 mins or till golden brown.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

