Low-carb pizza!

Tonight I decided to try out a new recipe I found for pizza with a cauliflower base.  I’ve made a couple variations of cauliflower bases before but can’t say I have been totally happy with the end result although they have always been delicious.

I followed the recipe, made my cauli rice and cooked in the microwave for 4 minutes.  Left it to cool down then transferred to a clean tea towel and squeezed out excess liquid.  Put that aside for a while and dished up supper for the meat eaters 🙂  Called Larry and Caleb down to supper.  Larry washed up something and apparently grabbed my tea towel with the cauliflower in it to dry his hands off.  Needless to say, my cooked cauliflower ended up in the kitchen sink….aaarggghhh….if I wasn’t hungry, I would have called it a night and gone to bed.  Luckily I had plenty of cauliflower left over so started again.

I made a super thin crust because I wanted to see if it would crisp up like a traditional pizza crust.  Since I had to start the whole process over again, I decided not to make a tomato sauce and spread sriracha sauce over the pizza base instead.  I have done this many times during my wheat eating pizza days and loved it! Topped that with some mushroom and grated cheese and popped back in the oven for a few minutes.

End result……delicious as always. Base did not go crispy but held together well in spite of how thin I had made it.


Here is a link to the recipe http://www.theluckypennyblog.com/2013/02/the-best-cauliflower-crust-pizza.html?m=1

Leave a Reply

