Flaxseed Crackers

I haven’t posted anything in a while but that’s because I haven’t made anything worth writing about 🙂 Been cooking my favourites, anything quick and easy, mainly because I have been knitting up a storm…..Christmas is almost here and I have so many projects on the go!
Chloe cooked supper for us tonight. She made Thai style stuffed peppers, using mushrooms, onions, baby spinach and baby kale greens, red Thai chili peppers, cheese and coconut milk.
She served that with a green salad featuring haloumi cheese, blueberries and avocado…..yum, I really enjoyed supper tonight!


image
And no, that isn’t chicken, it’s the haloumi cheese!
While she was busy with supper I made a batch of flaxseed crackers. My sister sent me the recipe some time ago and I have made them several times now…..they are really good! I changed up the recipe a bit. Here is what I used tonight.
1 cup brown flaxseed
3 Tbs chia seed
1 cup water
2 Tbs pumpkin seeds
2 Tbs sunflower seeds
1 Tbs sesame seeds
1 Tbs hemp seeds
1 Tbs za’atar
A little salt to taste
Instructions
Preheat oven to 200F. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper
In a large bowl, soak flax and chia seeds in water for 15-20 minutes
Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well
Spread the mixture evenly on the lined baking sheet and bake at 200F for an hour and a half. Flip it over and bake for another hour and a half. Turn the heat off and let it cool inside the oven.
Once cooled, break it into “free form”, uneven pieces (makes approximately 35)*
*For even size crackers, score the dough with a knife before baking
Here is a link to the original recipe…..
http://mayihavethatrecipe.com/2013/04/22/flax-chia-seed-crackers-vegan-gluten-free/
My crackers……
image

Leave a Reply

