Low-carb hamburger buns

I’ve tried quite a few recipes for buns since I have been eating low-carb, and while they have usually been fairly good, none can compete with these!
Usually I end up with a pretty good bun but they have always been more eggy tasting than bread tasting. This recipe is awesome, the end result is the closest to a bun I have tried so far.
The recipe makes a single bun, which is great for me as no-one else in my family will eat my low-carb creations, except Chloe, from time to time.


They can be made either in the microwave or else oven-baked if you’re not pressed for time, or starving lol! I’m a lazy cook, so I am usually starving by the time I get around to making a meal for myself!
I made the first bun in the microwave tonight, but was so hungry that I wolfed it down before I thought to take a pic. My bun was great, I just found it lacking in colour, it looked a bit insipid……tasted really good though! I toasted it and ate it with marmite and cheese topping.
The buns in the pics below were baked in the oven. I will definitely do them this way in future. They browned beautifully and just look more appetizing.

Ingredients used:
1 Tbs melted butter
1 Tbs coconut milk
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 Tbs coconut flour
1 Tbs almond flour
1/8 tsp baking soda
Sesame seeds

Method:
Preheat oven to 350F.
In a bowl combine egg, coconut milk and butter.
Add dry ingredients and mix together.
Pour into a 4″ ramekin or similar sized oven safe bowl.
Bake for 20 minutes.

Enjoy your bun! Here is a link to the original recipe I found on Pinterest.
http://freerangecookies.com/2013/03/06/low-carb-bun-for-one/

2 thoughts on “Low-carb hamburger buns

Leave a Reply

