Mexican Casserole

Hi everyone! Happy New Year…..may all your hopes and dreams be realized in 2015. Fifteen is my favourite number so I just feel in my bones that’s it’s going to be an awesome year!

After enjoying the lovely holiday season it’s all back to normal, with me racking my brains trying to come up with something quick and tasty for the carnivores in the family as well as myself.
I found this recipe for a Mexican casserole using cauliflower as the base that I cooked for supper tonight. I adapted the recipe to suit myself, mostly because I didn’t have all the ingredients, simple though they were, but also because I really enjoy spicy food. End result was divine! I will be making this dish regularly.

Ingredients:
1 head cauliflower
1 large green pepper, chopped
1 onion, chopped
2 Roma tomatoes, chopped
2 cups grated cheese of your choice (I used aged cheddar)
3 chipotle peppers, chopped (I used from a can)
1 jalapeño pepper, chopped
2 Tsp cumin powder
1 tsp red chilli powder
Salt to taste
1 tbs olive oil
1/2 cup chopped cilantro

Method:
Rice cauliflower in a food processor and microwave for 3 mins, set aside.
Pan roast green pepper and onion in olive oil at medium heat with cumin and chilli powder, stirring every couple mins.
Chop tomatoes, cilantro, jalapeño pepper and chipotle peppers and add to cauliflower rice with 1 to 1 1/2 cups of the grated cheese.
Add green pepper and onions and mix together well.
Turn into a greased medium sized casserole dish and top with remaining cheese. Bake at 350F for 30-40 mins. Serve with sour cream and chopped avocado.

This is one of those recipes that you can easily adjust to your personal taste and it will still turn out wonderfully!

imageimage

Here is a link to the original recipe:
http://the-lowcarb-diet.com/low-carb-mexican-casserole/

Leave a Reply

